S-user Lifetime

To help protect your sensitive company information and ensure GDPR compliance, SAP is assisting customers and partners in their responsibility of user administration by assigning an expiry date to all S-users, which started June 2nd, 2020. You can find the S-user lifetime expiration date in your User Profile. Administrators will find more in-depth information relevant to the user account management activities in the User Management Application.

S-user Lifetime Process

Phase 1 - Active

  • With S-user lifetime, S-user IDs now have an "expiry date." This means all new users will have a default validity period of 24 months.
  • Administrators have the ability to amend the expiration date as needed.
  • A valid email address is now mandatory for all S-user IDs.

Phase 2 - Expiring

  • The expiring phase is 90 days.
  • The administrators will be notified as soon as the S-user enters the expiring phase. There is no impact to the S-user at the time of these notifications.
  • S-users will be notified via email three times at 30 days, 14 days, and 2 days before their S-user ID expires.
  • Administrators may choose to extend the S-user lifetime of each user, allow them to expire or they may delete any S-user IDs at any time. Note: There is also a mass update available.
  • At any time, S-users may request an extension of their ID's expiry date via a self-service. Note: S-users will be informed about any changes to their expiration dates.

Phase 3 - Expired

  • For 90 days after the expiry date passes, the S-user ID will be disabled (please note that the S-user ID will not be deleted yet).
  • The S-user will be unable to authenticate into SAP platforms and systems.
  • S-users will receive a confirmation notification for their expired S-user.
  • Administrators can see expired S-users in the User Management Application.
  • Administrators can reactivate the S-user ID up until the S-user ID is deleted.

Phase 4 - Deleted

  • 90 days after the S-user ID has expired, it will be deleted.
  • Administrators can view deleted S-user IDs for 12 months; however, the S-user ID will be unable to be reactivated. 
  • If the deleted S-user requires access to SAP systems again, the administrator will have to create a new S-user ID for that individual (the deleted S-user ID will no longer exist). 
  • Please note: SAP cannot bring this S-user ID back.
  • The deleted S-user's history will also be deleted from the SAP systems permanently.

Frequently Asked Questions